Sports News


Kiplagat Bett is Dead


Kenya's former 400m hurdles World Champion Nicholas Kiplagat Bett has died in a road accident few days after returning from the African Championships in Asaba, Nigeria.

"We regret to learn of the sudden demise of one of our top athletes, the 2015 400m Hurdles World Champion Nicholas Kiplagat Bett who represented Kenya in the just concluded Africa Championships. Our condolences to his family and the entire athletics fraternity," Kenya Athletics on Wednesday.

Information from the Kenya Police indicates that Bett died on the spot after the car he was driving veered off the road and landed in a ditch along Eldoret-Kapsabet road on Wednesday morning.

Nandi Police Commander Patrick Wambani confirmed the death, saying preparations were being made to take the body to a nearby mortuary.

Bett won gold in the 400m hurdles during the 2015 World Championships held in Beijing, China. He finished 8th at the 2018 Gold Coast Commonwealth Games in Australia.

"Deeply saddened by the death of former 400m hurdles World Champion Nicholas Bett who died today in a tragic road accident. Bett earned the country great honours in his outstanding victories. My deepest sympathies and heartfelt condolences to his family, relatives and friends," President Uhuru Kenyatta posted on his Twitter.

Dominic Otuchet, President of the Uganda Athletics Federation (UAF) told PRIME RADIO that it was sad news to hear about the death of a young athlete. "We pray that his family can be strong during this difficult time," added Otuchet.


Masaza Cup: Singo Fans Rough Up Own Coach, Players



There was chaos at Mityana Ssaza grounds on Sunday evening during the match between Singo Football team and Mawogola FC in the fourteenth edition of Masaza Cup.

Chaos broke out at the end of the match, when the fans of Singo Football team roughed up their own coach, George Lutalo and players blaming them for losing the game.

The three time champions of Masaza cup and 2017 finalists lost 2-1 to the visiting Mawogola team. Singo took lead in the 24th minute through their left winger, John Musasizi. At the start of the second half, the Singo Football coach, Lutalo decided to substitute Edward Satro, a central defender and replaced him with Isaac Kaviri.

As a result, Mawogola started penetrating Singo's defense. In the 79 minute, Kevin Kyeyune headed in the net to equalize the game. Kyeyune's goal disorganized Singo and Mawogola intensified pressure. Bright Jude Vuni netted in the second goal for Mawogola a few minutes to end of the second half giving the visiting team victory.

Shortly after the final whistle, the irritated Singo fans charged towards Lutalo blaming him for the loss. They argued that the coach made a 'grave technical mistake' to substitute Satro who had put up a good performance.

"Our team was playing well before he removed Satro from the defence. He brought in a fake defender disorganizing our team," one of the angry Singo fans said. Lutalo tried to find his way out of the pitch as the fans pursued him prompting police to fire live bullets to disperse the unruly fans.

The fans also assaulted four players including Kafeero, Ponsiano Ssegonja, John Musaasizi and Isaac Otto who tried to shield coach were beaten and were taken CEI Medical Centre for treatment. In other matches Busiro drew 0-0 with Mawokota at Ssentema playground and Buweekula edged Kabula 2-1 in Mubende.

On Saturday, Gomba and Kyadondo registered a goal less draw at Gayaza High school playground in a match graced by former professional players Emmanuel Eboue and Ibrahima Sonko.

Buleemezi utilised the home advantage to defeat Ssese

2-0 at Kasana playground while Kooki held Buddu to a one all draw at Lwanda playground in Rakai. Butambala lost 1-0 to Bugerere and Buvuma won Bululi 1-0 at Migyera Playground.

Masaza cup Football tournament is played annually by teams from the 18 counties, which makeup Buganda kingdom. The tournament has witnessed and molded a number of players who have later shined in top flight clubs in the country and the national team.



Prime Classfieds